The Collegiate Church of the Holy Cross

Superb Romanesque edifice built in the XIth century. In 1634, exorcism sessions were held here as part of the trial of Urbain Grandier, a priest accused of witchcraft by nuns, the “affair of the possessed of Loudun”. At the end of the 19th century, the church was converted into a covered market until 1991. Today, the Collégiale is one of the major monuments of Loudun’s heritage, with its exceptional painted decorations from the 12thth and 14th centuries, restored in 1995. Since then, it has been the setting for numerous exhibitions.

This magnificent bright building in Romanesque style featuring a majestic choir and painted decorations dating from the 13th & 14th centuries houses contemporary art exhibitions and concerts. It is in this collegiate church that exorcism sessions are supposed to have been performed during Urbain Grandier’s affair of “The devils of Loudun”. Discover the current exhibition.